24th April 2021

Tasmanian Uniform  Buttons

H. M. Gaol Tasmania

HM Goal Department replaced the Sheriffs Department in 1936 and was in turn replaced by the Goals Department in 1944. It was responsible for the Campbell Street Goal in Hobart as well local goals and watch houses.


 Post & Telegraph/Post Office Tasmania







The ‘Post & Telegraph Department’ was reported in Tasmanian newspapers from 1892. However, telegraph was established in Van Diemen’s Land as early as 1821, with “Post & Telegraph” offices built around Australia in the 1860s.

Following Federation the colonial post and telegraph services came under the control of the Post Master General’s Department. It was not until 1975 that postal services were separated from telegraphic communications when the PGM was split into Australia Post and Telecom.

For all questions and comments, please use the Contact page.