27th November 2022

The Royal Regiment of Artillery

Artillery Forces trace back into the 16th century, with the designation of Royal Artillery starting in 1720. Various Battalions served in Australia from 1843 until the British regiments left in 1870. They also served in New Zealand during the Maori/Land Wars from 1846.

Early buttons were gilt for officers and pewter for Other Ranks. From 1831 the button design changed to that of 3 stacked field guns (cannons) surmounted by a crown, staying the same until after the Royal Artillery left out shores.

Illustrated Sydney News, 6th September 1870 page 3.

For any comment or question, please use the Contact page.