5th March 2021

Banking Uniform Buttons

See also  http://www.austbuttonhistory.com/uniform-buttons-2/companies-and-clubs-including-merchantile-marine/?preview_id=4881&preview_nonce=acff4915a8&_thumbnail_id=-1&preview=true#BANKS

National  Australia Bank





The NAB was formed from the merger of the National Bank of Australasia and  Commercial Banking Company of Sydney in 1982.


St George Bank






St George’s was originally a Building Society formed in 1937. It became a bank in 1992. There have been mergers and acquisitions, notably of BankSA. In 2008 St George and BankSA became subsidiaries of Westpac. In Victoria the St George branches were rebranded as a (relaunched) Bank of Melbourne.







Originally the Bank of New South Wales (from 1817), the bank was rebranded in 1982.


Australia New Zealand Banking Group

1970-1988 logo

 ?mid 1980s









ANZ was formed in 1951 from the merger of the Bank of Australasia (founded 1835) and the Union Bank of Australia Limited (founded 1837).

The  official ANZ coat of arms has the motto ‘Tenax Propositi’ or ‘Tenacious of Purpose’ in the banner. It was granted in 1960. The official supporters are an Antelope and Unicorn, but the kangaroo and kiwi are nice.

From Twitter: the embroidered pocket of an ANZ blazer.

State Library WA #47850564. Model wearing ANZ uniform 1958.


Commonwealth Bank

1991-2020  logo.