27th August 2020

Yacht Clubs

Brighton Yacht Club

Stokes & Martin Makers Melbourne. The button dates from 1876-1893.

This club was established in 1875 as the Brighton Sailing Club, becoming the Brighton Yacht Club by 1876. The first Club House was built in 1877. In 1924 the Royal Warrant was granted.


Holdfast Bay Yacht Club

Critic (Adelaide), 4th December 1907 page 6.
Guests at the Holdfast Bay Yacht Club’s opening.

Critic (Adelaide) 4th December 1907 page 6.

The Holdfast Yacht Club was established in 1883. In 1998 it merged with the Glenelg sailing Club to form the Adelaide Sailing Club.


Royal Motor Yacht Club

Stokes & Sons 1926-1952

In 1909 the Motor Boat Club of NSW changed its name to the Motor Yacht Club. In 1927 it was allowed the Royal prefix. They have operated from Pittwater since 1926. For their history see https://www.royalmotor.com.au/the-club/rmyc-history

From the club website.

Sydney Sportsman, 26th April 1927 page 16. Hugh Ward and his wife in the Royal Motor Yacht Club races.


Royal Queensland Yacht Club

The club started as the Brisbane sailing Club in 1885. it was renamed the Queensland yacht Club in 1894 and gained the Royal title in 1902. Queen Elizabeth approved the name change to Squadron in 1961.

From the Queenslander Pictorial supplement, 25th October 1919 page 27.

Royal Yacht Club of Victoria

Backmark Wilding & Lee. These were button makers in Cheapside, London around 1891.

Established as early as May 1853 as the Victorian Yacht club, it is one of the oldest in Australia. it received the royal title in 1885.

The Australasian (Melbourne) 3rd June 1905 page 29.The new premises in St Kilda.

Weekly Times (Melbourne), 24th November 1906 page 9. “The run home.”

For all comments and questions, please use the Contact page.