15th February 2022

Please leave any comments or queries via the contact page.

Badges of the Australian Citizen Forces

Printed in the Sun (Sydney), 9th July 1933, page 11.

The Australian Imperial Forces (AIF) officially ceased on 1st April 1921, to be replaced by the Citizens Military Force (CMF), also known as the militia. These new units kept the numerical designations, and were situated from the same regions as the AIF units on which they were based. Some units were disbanded, re-raised and merged. Some of these names will be familiar from the regimental buttons made by Stokes in the 1950s. Many are remembered within units of the Army Reserve today.

1. All Australian Artillery Units  2. All Australian Engineer Units  3. All Australian Corps of Signals  4. 2nd Battalion “City of Newcastle”   5. 13th Battalion “The Maitland Regiment”

6. 35th Battalion “Newcastle’s Own Regiment”  7. 18th Battalion “The Kuring-gai Regiment (Willoughby)   8. 17th Battalion “The North Sydney Regiment”   9. 30th Battalion “The City of Sydney Regiment” (Miller’s Point)  10. 16th Light Horse “Hunter River Lancers (West Maitland)

51st Battalion “Field of Mars Regiment” (Gladsville)  12. Sydney University Regiment  13. 55th Battalion “NSW Rifle Regiment” (Forest Lodge) 14. 1st Battalion “East Sydney Regiment” (Paddington)  15. 3rd Battalion “Werriwa Regiment”

16. 53rd Battalion “West Sydney Regiment” (Marrickville)  17. 20/54th Battalion “Parramatta and Blue Mountains Regiment”  18. 34th Battalion “The Illawara Regiment” (Hurstvolle)  19. 4th Battalion “The Australian Rifles” (Homebush)  20. 15th Light Horse “Northern Rivers Lancers” (Lismore)

21. 36th Battalion “St George’s English Rifles Regiment” (Haberfield)  22. 56th Battalion “The Riverina Regiment” (Belmore)  23. 19th Battalion “The South Sydney Regiment” (Homebush)  24. 45th Battalion “The St George Regiment (Arncliffe)  25. All Australian Army Medical Corps Units

26. 7th Light Horse “Australian Horse” (Goulburn)  27. All Australian Army Veterinary Corps Units  28. 1/21st Light Horse “NSW Lancers” (Paddington)  29. 6th Light Horse “NSW Mounted Rifles” (Orange)